Supervisor District 2, North Monterey County

The North Monterey County Supervisor District truly has it all, from the foothills of Fremont's Peak to the Moss Landing harbor, from farm fields to the shopping malls of north Salinas. The District includes a diverse collection of communities, each with a unique set of needs. The District is served by a wide variety of local and regional governments, in addition to the services provided by the County of Monterey.

One of the most important jobs of the District 2 Supervisor is to build partnerships between the County government and the various local services providers to ensure that the needs of North Monterey County are met.

Below is a snapshot of North County governance. As you can see, there's a lot going on in North County.

Communities of District 2:

Aromas, Bolsa Knolls, Boronda, Castroville, Elkhorn, Las Lomas, Moss Landing, Oak Hills, Pajaro, Prunedale, Royal Oaks, and areas of north and west Salinas

County Services:

The County of Monterey has 26 departments that provide key services to county residents, such as land use planning, building permits, social services, and the Sheriff's Office.

Local special districts serving North Monterey County:

Aromas Water District. Castroville Community Services District. Castroville Cemetery District. The North County Fire Protection District. Moss Landing Harbor District. Pajaro Valley Cemetery District. Pajaro Valley Water Management Agency. The North County Recreation and Park District. The Pajaro-Sunny Mesa Community Services District. Tri-County Fire Protection District.

Regional Agencies:

Association of Monterey Bay Area Governments. Central Coast Community Energy. Monterey-Salinas Transit. Monterey Regional Waste Management District. Monterey Air Resource Board. Monterey One Water. North Salinas Valley Mosquito Abatement District. Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare System. Salinas Valley Basin Ground Water Sustainability Agency. Salinas Valley Solid Waste Authority. Transportation Agency for Monterey County.

School Districts

Depending on where you live within District 2, your local school district may be one of the following: Alisal Union, Graves, Lagunita, North Monterey County Unified, Pajaro Valley Unified, Salinas City Elementary, Salinas Union High, Santa Rita Union.

State Agencies:

In addition to the local special districts, North Monterey County relies on Caltrans and the CHP for the maintenance and safety of the highways serving our community. District 2 includes four state highways: Highway 1, Highway 101, Highway 156, and Highway 183.